Regulatory Body Councils

The Professional Governance Act (PGA) requires regulatory body councils to be composed of four appointed lay (public) members, in addition to seven elected registrant members.  Lay councillors play an important role in bringing outside perspectives to the governance of the regulatory body.

Lay councillors are appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council after a merits-based recruitment process involving the Office of the Superintendent of Professional Governance (OSPG), the Crown Agencies and Board Resourcing Office (CABRO), and each regulatory body.

People from all regions of our province are invited to participate on regulatory body councils. Consideration will be given to qualified individuals with a broad range of backgrounds. The selection process will recognize lived experience and volunteer roles as well as paid employment and academic achievements.

To support strong councils that reflect the diversity of our province, women, visible minorities, Indigenous Peoples, persons with disabilities, persons of diverse sexual orientation, gender identity or expression (LGBTQ2S+), and others who may contribute to diversity in council appointments are encouraged to put their names forward for appointments.

Lay councillors must not be a registrant of the regulatory body and should be free of actual and perceived conflicts of interest.  Preference would be given to those who have a broad interest in the mandate of the regulatory body; the time and ability to devote to council business through both in-person and electronic means; experience in non-profit board governance; experience in professional regulation and related administrative law; and a record of community service.

To learn more about the appointment process, and to explore current lay councillor vacancies, visit the CABRO website.

The following lay councillor position vacancies are anticipated over the next year.  More information and links to the notices of position will be posted here in the future:

  • BC Institute of Agrologists (three lay councillor vacancies – spring 2020)
  • College of Applied Biology (one lay councillor vacancy – late fall 2020)
  • BC Institute of Agrologists (one lay councillor vacancy – late fall 2020)
  • Applied Science Technologists and Technicians of BC (one lay councillor vacancy – late fall 2020)
  • Association of BC Forest Professionals (two lay councillor vacancies – winter 2021)
  • Applied Science Technologists and Technicians of BC (one lay councillor vacancy – spring 2021)

Regulatory Body Committees

Under the PGA, five statutory committees are required to support the work of the council and staff.  These include the nominating committee, credentials committee, audit and practice review committee, investigation committee, and discipline committee.  Councillors of the regulatory bodies must not serve on their committees.  Lay committee members are required for all committee business and will be actively recruited by regulatory bodies with the support of the OSPG and CABRO.  More information about the recruitment and appointment process, as well as opportunities to serve on committees will be posted here in the future.